Michael DeForge wins the Cartoonist Studio Prize

“Announcing the Winners of the Sixth Cartoonist Studio Prize” / Slate / Jacob Brogan / March 30, 2018

The Slate Book Review and the Center for Cartoon Studies are proud to announce the winners of the sixth annual Cartoonist Studio Prize. The winners were selected by Slate’s Jacob Brogan, the faculty and students at the Center for Cartoon Studies (represented by Kevin Czap), and this year’s guest judge: Andrew Farago of San Francisco’s Cartoon Art Museum.

Congratulations to our two winners, who each receive $1,000.

The winner for Best Web Comic is Michael DeForge for Leaving Richard’s Valley, which appears daily on Instagram. The strip follows a peculiar cast of characters, many of them animals, as they work through their relationships with the charismatic and tyrannical Richard. DeForge’s series is frequently funny, sometimes harrowing, and always deeply strange. Katz and DeForge join our previous winners, Eleanor Davis and Christina Tran; Carol Tyler and Boulet; Richard McGuire and Winston Rowntree; Taiyo Matsumoto and Emily Carroll; and Noelle Stevenson and Chris Ware.


Share on Facebook
Share on Tumblr
Share via Email